top of page

What is getting Out There?

Last summer I found myself 1300 miles from home riding in a bus with a complete group of strangers to Cimmaron New Mexico. I had taken a job at Philmont Scout Ranch, a 215 square mile stretch of the Rocky Mountains where the largest youth camp in the world is found.

While working there I made some fantastic friends, had some great times, some close calls and the adventure of a lifetime. I can clearly remember standing on top of an 11,000 foot peak two of my friends and I had summited to check a rumor that it still had snow on top of it in the middle of July (It did by the way).

While on the mountaintop I was struck by a familiar feeling. "I'm Out There". It's this feeling when you realize you have taken the plunge and now realize halfway through it that you are on a real adventure. It's a magical thing. I've created this blog to help people be able to chase that feeling. It will be filled with advice, stories and tips to help you go out there and take on an adventure even if you have never been on a trail before.

bottom of page