top of page

Final Thoughts


So the class is finally grinding to a halt after the nonstop rush that it has been. As someone who used social media very sparingly before this class saying a learned a lot is almost an understatement. Before I dive in I want to thank my instructor, Dr. Mimi Perreault for being so helpful and available throughout the course. I also want to thank my classmates for being an open and friendly group of people. As a non COM majoring jumping into my first class at the 3000 level I was a little worried at first. I found however, that everyone was warm, inviting and made me feel right at home, so if any of you are reading this thanks!

I thought a good way to examine the class would be to look at my goals and questions from the beginning of the class. To do that I am going to answer those questions here;

1. How can you monitor traffic and engagement on social media?

A: It varies from platform to platform but each one has it's own trackers to reveal a lot of information about how people interact with your profile. In addition you can use 3rd party management apps like Hootsuite to analyze data from all the platforms you use in one place.

2. How do you create an effective schedule for posting?

A: Once again it varies from platform to platform, so I won't go into too much detail, (this could be a whole article by itself), but a universal guide is to post frequently and regularly, so that you have a stable flow of posts.

3. What are the most effective mediums for reaching different audiences?

A: I'm becoming concerned the answer is always "It varies from platform to platform", but that is the answer here. If you want to target younger people twitter and Instagram are good choices, whereas something like Facebook appeals to a slightly older crowd.

4. How do you create a consistent and interesting tone?

A: One of the keys here is to have one person write all of the captions. Every person has their own internal voice and this shows in their writing. To make your message interesting it is important to cultivate an understanding of the sort of thing your audience is interested and harp on that.

5. What goes into the process of creating an online brand?

A: The most important aspect of this is consistency. The more you use certain colors, tones or stylistic elements the more people begin to associate them with your brand. That is why it is important to not have too much variation in your aesthetics or tone.

Thanks everyone for a wonderful class! See you around.

bottom of page